top of page

A Journeys Start is Long Before the Departure

Over the past week the four fellows about to start their engage north journeys have been undergoing orientation activities of all forms to prepare us for the next four months. This orientation has taken the form of workshops and training, such as Terre Create, bear safety training, fire arms safety training, fire extinguisher training, and the RISE blanket exercise, as well as some deeply meaningful and powerful discussions and presentations from outside presenters as well as from fellows old and new. Upon meeting my soon to be roommate Lily we automatically recognized kindred spirits in one another. Within a day we were collaborating supplies on a shared packing list and deciding what movies we should bring to watch. Hint, there are a lot of Disney movies! This process has helped shape expectations as well as teach me to set my expectations broad as I recognize I am preparing for an experience which is unique to each previous fellow. This guidance and preparation has helped stoked the fire of my excitement and I cannot wait to set off for Rocky Lane on Tuesday for the amazing culture I will learn, the amazing people I will meet, the new landscape and change of scenery and for the opportunity this will present me with to grow as an individual. My biggest concern for this new endeavor is the change of pace all my colleagues have been warning me about. As a go-getter in a society of constant motion and deadlines, I am concerned that the slower pace of life in my host community that previous fellows have noted will throw me off. However I come prepared with stacks of books to read!!! All in all I feel as prepared as I will ever be and anxious to continue with the new experiences and challenges and to foster new relationships with my fellow fellows and the community which have granted my this honor.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Black Round
bottom of page